May is National Motorcycle Safety Awareness Month and I’m sure you’ve heard by now that Michigan has changed it’s helmet requirements.  By signing Enrolled Senate Bill No. 291, Governor Rick Snyder amended Michigan State Law to make wearing a helmet while riding optional.  But, before you jump on your motorcycle and ride off with the wind in your hair, here are a few things to know about the changes and what it means for you.

• All riders under 21 years of age must still wear a helmet.
• Riders must have had their cycle endorsement for at least 2 years or to have taken an approved safety course
• Each rider not wearing a helmet on a motorcycle must have a minimum of $20,000 of first party motorcycle medical coverage.  Additional health insurance will not satisfy the requirements of the new bill.
Speak with your PCE Insurance agent to make sure that you have the proper coverage today and as always, Ride Safe!